5 replies to this topic

#1 HadAboutEnough

HadAboutEnough

Councilman

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 603 posts

Posted 24 January 2017 - 10:30 AM

Let's see a show of hands from the local republicans who are proud to see that two of the very first republican proposals are raising taxes and giving elected officials a raise.  From the party of smaller government and lower taxes... good job boys, good job!

• kelley, Debbie, javajoe and 1 other like this

#2 DBamforth

DBamforth

Tourist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 25 January 2017 - 09:36 AM

I'm a republican and I'm all for it! For the tax raises, if your talking about the gas/cigarette tax increase I think its a good idea. I'm not a smoker so I can't say that tax increase would impact me but I am a driver and I am all in favor of having my tax dollars fund road revitalization. As for the elected official raises, see the link below. That article articulates better than I could about why those raises are essential, especially since there hasn't been a raise for those officials since 2008. I am almost certain the cost of living has gone up since then.

http://www.journalga...icials-17436499

http://www.indystar....s-tax/96126250/

#3 kelley

kelley

Local Legend

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,132 posts

Posted 25 January 2017 - 11:00 AM

Would you not prefer they just use all the money they now collect for roads on the roads and see how that goes before they ask for more money?

They need raises to attract more quality candidates. The last batch of successful candidates thought it would be a good idea to increase taxes and hand out raises for elected officials.

Edited by kelley, 25 January 2017 - 11:01 AM.

• Quasar likes this

#4 HadAboutEnough

HadAboutEnough

Councilman

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 603 posts

Posted 25 January 2017 - 11:46 AM